Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Newbie on the block

Options
ddalimo
ddalimo Member Posts: 1
Hello

Just to give you a little background info, I'm an hvac contractor but primarily installing residential furnaces, a/c, gas lines, etc. Over the past few years I have turned down many radiant jobs due to lack of experience or no experience for that matter. I have take a few radiant courses and have read some books just to gain some knowledge. Work has been a little slow lately and I have been offered another radiant job. It's just a basement radiant in slab job but will only be used as a secondary source of heat. I have already taken a few steps and download a free trial of loopcad and it made the following calculations

- 6 loop manifold with the longest loop being 204ft and the shortest being 114.
- 8" on centre except for the bathroom where it will be 6" on centre and 1/2 pex
- Insulation will be put under the new slab
- Bradford white combi tank will be used

This is where I might need some advice from someone. I've seen some sketches in the books I've read and from the classes I've taken but I'm not exactly sure how to build the manifold. I have a pretty good idea but I'm not sure what type of circulator pump to use and if mixing valves are needed or if a slab sensor is required.

Any help would be great. On another note I know this forum is for professionals in the industry but I'm looking at adding more to my business and my career.

Thanks

Comments

• Rich_49
    Rich_49 Member Posts: 2,766
    Options
    Cannot tell you if you need a mixing valve ,sensors or what type circ without you telling us Supply water temps at design , surface temp at design .