Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant overpour over existing slab and stained concrete finish

I have a slab on grade home that I'll be gutting out and doing an addition and I was planning on doing radiant heat throughout the entire house. I was curious if anyone has some pointers on doing radiant heat over an existing slab and doing an overpour for a stained concrete finish. I plan on running pex between joist for the 2nd floor.

I've done radiant heating on several other projects, but they were all new construction or the slab was entirely new. Other than watching a bunch of videos, this is my first time attempting installation by overpour

The home's style is modern and I figured a stained concrete finish on the lower floor makes the most economical sense and fits the grand scheme of things

I have some room to work with in terms of how thick the overpour could be, the videos I've seen and the stuff I've read it seems like a lot of people are saying gypcrete. My experience with gypcrete isn't a great one, I had a property where we uncovered gypcrete and it was practically dust after we ripped out the tiles. Also doesn't help I don't really want to try someone new for this project...or having to find someone. Every sub I've worked with or site I've visited don't seem to have a good recommendation for gypcrete contractors in my area, a lot of "have you tried craigslist/yellow pages/yelp?" The other thing is I've never really seen microtopped gypcrete, so the end result might not be what I'm looking for.