Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

how do i turn on and refill a disconnected zone & zone valve valve

jaybeach
jaybeach Member Posts: 9
hi my name is jay,
MY 3RD FLOOR CIRCULATOR PUMP(I have 2 other circulator pumps 1 for the 1st &one for the 2nd floor) has been disconnected & drained over the past winter. I had a ball valve installed on the line that feeds the 3rd floor zone from the boiler, which has been in the off position. Now, I want to refill the zone to check for leaks, and reconnect the zone valve. I am new to oil burners. What do I have to do? What are the blue & black valves used for..
thank you for your help.
beach331@optonline.net

Comments

• Kakashi
    Kakashi Member Posts: 88
    That 8184g with a black button scares me. The black and blue valves are used to force purge the system. Can't really tell you much else from your pictures...looks really easy to blessing or a really long service.
  • jaybeach
    Hello Rick,

I only know of 1 valve that is on the copper pipe going from the boiler up to the third floor.What do I do If the line was not properly winterized and I have a leak in the pipe?? (This line runs 20 feet in a ceiling.) I guess turn the blue valve off quickly?
    While I am purging, (CAN I SLOWLY OPEN THE BLUE VALVE IN CASE I DO HAVE A LEAK?) should the boiler be turned off or left on?
    Should I have the thermostat turned up before I attached the white wire to the circulator where it is disconnected?
    Rick, thank you for making it sound so easy. I really appreciate your time.

Sincerely,
    Jay
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    You say you have a ball valve in the other side of the zone.