Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Automatic water feeder?

Hi All, I'm a relative novice to steam heat. Had a question regarding a Weil Mclain EGH-95-pin. Can i add a automatic water feeder to this system? I currently add water as needed. I'm attaching a pic of the system.image

Comments

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,722
    How much water are you adding? Yes you can add an auto feeder, but be aware if you are adding water all the time you have a problem. These systems should use very little water and excess makeup water will kill these boilers. If your water usage is excessive you need to address that problem before worrying about adding an auto feeder. Auto feeders are convenience items, you should be peeking in on that boiler at least once a week out of habit to monitor things....especially water usage. Is this a new boiler?
    2014 Weil Mclain EG-40
    EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Boiler Control
    Boiler pictures updated 2/21/15
  • nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    how often are you adding water?
    more than once a month might indicate a problem.
    if you do add a feeder, make sure it has a meter on it, so you can monitor the consumption.--NBC
  • BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    Automatic water feeders probably destroy as many boilers as they save. Steam boiler can not be ignored, they have to be monitored at least twice a week to catch any problem early before they become serious.

KC_Jones was right about knowing how much water is being added to a steam boiler, the automatic feeders make it to easy to ignore excess water use. You don't realize whats going on till someone tells you the boiler has to be replaced because it rotted out.