Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Becket r7184b not working properly

Shakinittwice
Shakinittwice Member Posts: 12
I have an oil furnace in my home. The control module as mentioned in title is a Becket r7184b. It has worked fine but this winter when I fired it up it has been working intermittently and clicking alot. I'm an electrician and I would describe the sound as like an arc but clearly there is none going on. When the signal to come on hits the module there is an audible "click". Same when told to cutoff by the thermostat. The rapid clicking seems like it's going back and forth between the two. If I stand there and hold the wires a certain way it will work as should but soon as I let go it stops. And sometimes it will just work fine for a few hours. I'm I right in assuming it's the old signal cable from my thermostat or is the control poopied out?

Comments

• BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    Try pulling on each of those wires, sometimes solid wire will fracture under the insulation and flexing the cable will make or break contact. Also there could be a a bad solder joint on the Honeywell control.

Bob
    Smith G8-3 with EZ Gas @ 90,000 BTU, Single pipe steam
    Vaporstat with a 12oz cut-out and 4oz cut-in
    3PSI gauge
  • Shakinittwice
    I have taken the wire off and put on crimp connectors in hopes of making a better connection and it still does it. I have found if I wedge something under the contact side of the control it works. But that's just a temporary band-aid
  • billtwocase
    billtwocase Member Posts: 2,385
    Pics always help. What unit is this on? Is it a boiler, warm air? Where does the thermostat connect to?
  • billtwocase
    If warm air, does it have zone dampers?
  • Shakinittwice
    It's for heat. And it's on a Honeywell.
  • billtwocase