Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Is boiler run time an indication of how over sized it is on a design day?

goodguy
goodguy Member Posts: 12
I am going to replace my boiler this summer and I am reading everything I can here. I also have read two of Dan's books. I am a structural engineer so I understand technical stuff, but my knowledge of design and implementation for radiant systems is non-existent! I am doing a heat loss study to size a new boiler but under present conditions, on a design day (-11) SE Minnesota, My boilers run time was 55%. Radiator closest to the boiler never got above 140 degrees. Boiler has only ever shut down by the room thermostat, never by max boiler temp. Boiler usually ran about 10 min and was off for 10 to 15 min. House temp 70 degrees, and comfortable everywhere. History is 1930 2 pipe steam, converted to hot water. Present Boiler is from 1993. Is it a straight linear equation for size? Am I 45% too big. Input 250,000 btu, DOE 205,000. I will do a heat loss, but isn't this a better indication of my actual losses than a heat loss with a lot of assumptions?
I really appreciate the knowledge and respect that is shown around here. I will have lots of questions as I narrow down my choices. Hot water radiant is not common around here and what there is tends to be new in slab. So I want to be knowledgeable as I pick contractor. And I will be using a PRO, (but I'm gonna watch ;)

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    I wouldn't be a bit surprised if your present boiler was oversized. Happens all the time.

Your best bet with a major conversion like this is to go all the way back to square one and do the heat loss workup. Use conservative but realistic assumptions.
    Br. Jamie, osb