Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

heat source radiant floor, dazed and confused.

Brooksi
Brooksi Member Posts: 22
Q; does the traditional tankless gas water heaters have a thermostat which shuts the burner off when the water is still running through it is already at a hot enough temperature.
I would like to keep my system simple. I am still very new at radiant heat and also how to use this forum so I apologize in advance for any confusion.
I would like to try to use 2- 220w = 48v electric solar panels on the roof with a solar hybrid hot water controller with MPPT (maximum power point tracking) I saw on the internet, connected to the 50 electric tank I have. I do not have the headroom in the basement for a regular 50g gas heater because of the blower I need with it, so I would like to start out with a tankless heating system (as that is what the mortgage people want to see in a tradition heat source) that is cost efficient as it would eventually be a secondary source. This has been a 2 year project. When I put the exhaust and intake pipes in 2 years ago the units I was looking at called for a 2" pipe and now most are 3" (as they go under the concrete floor to the outside they cannot be changed. I had an outdoor tankless unit to buy that was a discontinued unit yet it did not have the ability to shut off when the water was already hot as it is turned on by the flow of water.
If anyone has any resolution for me would be great.

Comments

• SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    I'm not really sure what exactly you're asking here.

Tankless water heaters are not designed, approved, or warranted for radiant heating use. They can be made to work safely and effectively, but by the time you purchase and install everything necessary to do so, the price of a real boiler starts to look pretty reasonable.