Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Two zones, if one TT calls, both zones get hot...sometimes.

RickCiervo
RickCiervo Member Posts: 3
edited October 2014 in Gas Heating
I'm new to hot water heat - had a beautiful one-pipe steam system in my old house that Dan's books and wisdom helped me keep running in tip-top shape for 20 years. Bought a new house, and it has hot water heat, two zones, with a circulator on the return. There are two TACO zone valves on the supply side, and (obviously) two thermostats, one for each zone. In general, the system works well enough, but here is my problem:

The larger zone seems to work as intended - when the thermostat calls for heat, all the radiators on that circuit get hot, and the radiators on the other zone do not. The large zone has 7 radiators. All is well.

The smaller zone also fires as intended, BUT, after a few minutes all the radiators on the OTHER zone start to get warm. This doesn't happen right away, and the two radiators (there are only two radiators on the small zone) on the active zone are really hot before the radiators on the OTHER zone start to warm up. Eventually, all the radiators in the house are hot but only the small zone thermostat has called for heat.

When I bought the house, the valve for the two largest radiators in the main zone were shut off, and the previous owner couldn't figure out 1. why the radiator in the den didn't get hot, and 2. why the thermostat for the big zone (located in that same den) didn't "do anything". It does, in fact, work, but given how the system works, it appears that the thermostat is redundant. He wasn't a heating man...

I've done some troubleshooting, and here is what I know:
  • The small zone is farthest from the boiler, and only has two smallish radiators on it.
  • The zone valves are not leaking externally.