Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

newbie - modcon boiler control, and pump questions

Options
hi everyone,

this is my first post, but i've been trolling for a few months now - thanks in advance for any advice you can offer. i'm in the middle of a major home remodel where i’m doing a multi-zone radiant install, myself. i’ve done a ton of homework (including studying Seigenthaler’s book, building my own software to validate my design, and generally obsessing about the details for months), but there are still a few fundamental questions for which i could use some advice.

first of all, i’m seriously leaning towards going with two triangle tube boilers, with tekmar controls and thermostats. my current thinking is to use grundfos pumps.

one question i can’t seem to really find a clear answer to relates to temperature mixing with modulating boilers. in standard fashion, i have two boiler output temp requirements - “hotter” for the primary DHW needs (indirect tank), and “120ish” for the PEX-in-concrete loops (8 zones). i don’t really have radiators in this house, so i don’t have a need to pump “hotter” water to heating zones.