Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Weil Mclain ECO 155 gas piping design question

Izzydaangler
Izzydaangler Member Posts: 3
Hello,

I am a plumber from the philadelphia area. I have never installed one of these units before. I am installing one in my home and I want to get it right.

I have three heating zones and three circulators.

My old boiler was piped with an 1.5 supply header to 3 loops. Each 3/4 copper to fin tube.

The returns all returned to there own circulator into a 1.5 return header.

Can this eco be piped in the same fashion and is there controls available to handle 3 thermostats and 3 circulators?

Maybe if someone has experience with this situation they could diagram a design for me that works as per manufacturers recommendation. I cannot find anything like it in the manual.

Thank you

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    Sizing

How did you arrive at 155? How many LF of baseboard do you have? Have you done a heat loss?

The manual on that one is a math contradiction. You cannot have a max flowrate of 14.5 gpm and a min.delta t of 20  it just is not possible.

First determine the heating requirements, then work through the MW manual?
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • Izzydaangler
    piping design

Hello

Its not a question of sizing. I have an established heating system in this old victorian. It was an old oil fired boiler with 3 zones.

The heater was sized correctly. I need advise from someone who has installed this heater or one like it and how they piped the three zones in using 3 circs and 3 thermostats.

Thanks
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    It's ALWAYS a question of sizing

Approximately what size is the house, and where is it located?
  • Zman
    Sizing

Of course it is about sizing.