Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heat load calc( to pay, or not to pay)

BenWoj
BenWoj Member Posts: 33
I've been beating myself up over this, so I figured I'd ask for opinions here. Planning on having a radiant geothermal system installed in the house this summer. I purchased the "modern hydronic heating" book on this site so I'm able to do as much reading as possible. My geothermal contractor wanted me to get a heat load cal so we can determine the heat pump size, but I'm dragging my feet.

Being an engineer, I've been doing all my calculations from the book ( heat loss, water temp, flow rate ect) and I've been wondering if I should go with my calculations, or pay someone ($400) to come in and do it for me. Only thing pushing me to paying someone is so they can double check my numbers.

House is half gutted as I'm still in the process of having everything sprayed in. So whoever does come to do my load calc will be basing it off assumptions.

What do you think?

Comments

• BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    Pay the money

As an engineer myself I understand wanting to trust your own calculations but unless you you have specific training in this field I'd pay someone to make sure I had not overlooked anything. $400 is literally a drop in the bucket, if your numbers are wrong, the fix could be orders of magnitude higher than that.

I would make sure whoever you hire has the expertise you need.

Bob
    Smith G8-3 with EZ Gas @ 90,000 BTU, Single pipe steam
    Vaporstat with a 12oz cut-out and 4oz cut-in
    3PSI gauge
  • BenWoj
    Thx

Thx bob, that's what I kept concluding, but wanted to make sure.
  • nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    How to choose the engineer?