Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

manifold

Paul S_3
Paul S_3 Member Posts: 1,261
I will be doing a job I have never done before... Current system is a old two pipe hit water system with column radiators....the highest heat loss in a room is 11,500....customer wants to separate first and second floor on separate boilers....I was originally going to do a two pipe system with one inch copper reverse return....but then someone suggested on this site to use radiant manifolds and connect the radiators with 1/2 pex...has anyone have any experience with this? any tips? Should it be piped in reverse return? And the risers leading to radiators will remain,I will only be removing the Mains.....risers are 3/4"for second floor and 1"for first floor...can I just adapt to those lines with the pex? Thanks Paul s
ASM Mechanical Company
Located in Staten Island NY
Servicing all 5 boroughs of NYC.
347-692-4777
ASMMECHANICALCORP@GMAIL.COM
ASMHVACNYC.COM
https://heatinghelp.com/find-a-contractor/detail/asm-mechanical-company

Comments

• Eastman
    Eastman Member Posts: 927
    not to hijack your thread

but why do they want a boiler for each floor?
  • VA_Bear
    VA_Bear Member Posts: 50
    Customer Request

Does the customer want to shut off a floor completely? If so, consider that the loading will change (adjacent space will no longer be conditioned and will be a heat loss when shut off) and if not, I would consider a high turn-down modulating boiler to give them a higher savings year round and a definite installation and equipment savings up front, even with the higher cost of a mod boiler.
    VABear
  • heatman101
    heatman101 Member Posts: 19
    No problem...