Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

co testing

Paul_69
Paul_69 Member Posts: 251
i was checking a gas atmospheric boiler and the ppm was 600. after cleaning boiler, burners etc. i was able to get it to 200 or so ppm co. checked gas pressure. is it because its 20 yrs old? plenty of combustion air as well. is there any info out there to better understanding what i should be looking for on different units and how to use electronic tester better as instructions say very little. i am a contractor and just bought a tester and looking how to test and correct problem readings with heating equipment.

Comments

• JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    CO

What were the other readings during the test? O2? CO2?
  • Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,612
    Paul, what is your location

as I have a training center and from time to time I run a class on Testing Design Gas Equipment. You would find it very helpful to attend.
  • Paul_69
    Paul_69 Member Posts: 251
    test

7% 02, didnt do co2. i live in sharon mass 02067 tim. it is obvious i need training.i am new with testing electronic equipment. is the co reading i gave scary or acceptable.
  • JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    CO

At 7% O2, you're slightly underfired. If the gas is maxxed out at 3.75", can you adjust/lower the primary air on the burners?
  • Tim McElwain
    Paul 600 PPM is defintely too

high we shoot for less than 100 PPM air free? Have you clocked the burner to see what rate it is firing at, you can do that with the 1/2 foot dial on the meter and a stop watch. Check to see what the input should be on the rating plate for the equipment.

What is your inlet and outlet gas pressure to the gas valve?