Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help with using Navien in a primary/secondary loop

need to circulate up to 20 gpm in open radiant system thru a Navien NPE 240 A (rated for 4 gpm)....can I use a  manifold loop to create a primary loop for the navien and then run the radiant system as a secondary loop

this is my first time here...I could do a drawing of the whole system and scan it in I think...

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    Open???

Open radiant is an evil, evil thing.

Open systems become a breading ground for all thing biological, Including legionella.

I have seen systems that are full of slimy organic film that are hooked right to the homes domestic water supply.We are talking about multi million dollar homes. Do not do this. Radiant heat should be a closed system.

If you are really insisting on using a tankless heater as a boiler (another bad plan), put a plate heat exchanger between the 2 systems.

Boilers cost more money because they are designed for the work load.

Carl
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • Rich_49
    Rich_49 Member Posts: 2,766
    On board pump

in the Navien is only capable of 5 GPM .
    You didn't get what you didn't pay for and it will never be what you thought it would .
    Langans Plumbing & Heating LLC
    732-751-1560
    Serving most of New Jersey, Eastern Pa .
    Consultation, Design & Installation anywhere
    Rich McGrath 732-581-3833
  • HomeOwner1
    HomeOwner1 Member Posts: 134
    NPE is not a boiler (CH is the boiler)

I don't think they make a boiler by itself. Just a combi unit.

The combi works well in our place. Three 1/12 HP pumps hooked up to our primary 1" loop in our place feeding 6 3/4" home loops. Always heats up our loops just fine even when all running at the same time.