Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

One Cast Iron Radiator Not Working (Tried everything)

Options
Hi All,

I am extremely new to the oil-fired hot water boiler world. Just recently, I ran into alot of trouble with the hot water boiler. I had to fix a leaking water coil (domestic hot water also heated via this furnace), I had to replace the recirculation pump, then I found out the Pressure Reducing valve was shot and not letting any water in the system. Needless to say this had to be replaced as well. (All of this completed by myself, a friend and Google) Now that i'm done with the history of my last 2 weeks, here is the problem:

After the above mentioned repairs, the furnace and now heating the home as it was 5 months ago when I moved in. In essence, back to "normal". However, I have always had one radiator in my hallway that does not work AT ALL. Its a "2-pipe" radiator, if I continuously bleed this radiator, I can get one of the two pipes on the radiator "hot" but the radiator does not heat up at all, and that once hot pipe will be cold again minutes after bleeding the radiator. The other 4 radiators get so hot you can not hold your hand on them. I'm going to list some items about the furnace and what I have tried below, please bare in mind that I do not know much about this system except what I learned in the last 2 weeks:

-This system is a "Crane" branded hot-water boiler

-The system has ONE cirulator pump (GRUNDFOS) and is not "Zoned"

-System Pressure is around 12-15 PSI

-5 radiators on the system (4 first level, one second level, most of the upstairs is electric heat)

-System has an old-style ceiling mounted expansion tank mounted near the boiler in the basement between the 1st floor joists. (Seems to be correctly presureized as well