Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

liquid line driers

goodman r22 with LL drier buried down inside condenser unit and system had lost freon. found leak and want to replace drier. is it better to cut it out and put it outside unit? can you leave it in and just add one outside unit? why in gods name are they not outside anyways!!i have noticed alot of 410a units come this way also. i am a tech so dont panic. i just like asking questions and seeing what other techs are doing. you learn something new alot by just asking questions. and some times i am surprised i have been doing things wrong or just working in circles and everything is changing fast in this buisness and theold ways dont cut it anymore.....many thanks ..

Comments

• don_9
    don_9 Member Posts: 395
    Remove it

That what we do paul we removed them and piped them outside or close to the evaporator coil.And nothing wrong with the old ways, or being old for that matter.have you not herd that fifty is the new forty?lol
  • Paul_69
    Paul_69 Member Posts: 251
    remove it

is it mandatory to replace it after one leak and repair? it is in areal bad spot down in condenser. worried about making a leak cutting it out and trying to braze new pipe and couplings, i know your suppose to when system is open. why are manufacturers putting them buried inside unit!! thx
  • Techman
    Techman Member Posts: 2,144
    edited June 2012
    Stupidity

plain and simple. Moving the control panel out of the way helps,sometimes.You should change that f/d every time the system is open .I like SAE f/d's ,makes it easy to change.
  • Paul Fredricks_3
    Paul Fredricks_3 Member Posts: 1,557
    edited June 2012
    me

I'd leave it in place and add one outside the unit. I think the factory ones are just for residual from manufacturing and not for real world use.