Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Choosing an Indirect Hot Water Heater

PickyPro
PickyPro Member Posts: 13
Hi, I'm new to this board and have previously posted this to an earlier thread. I thought it would be better to start a new thread.

I am a general contractor and am doing research for my customer. The

plumber I use and my customer's plumber have given us a few options. We

are all set on sizing. My customer is wary because he had a glass lined

storage tank in the past, it failed and flooded his finished basement

and he's been living with a poor quantity of hot water from the existing

(probably scaled fouled) tankless coil in his oil burner. I explained

that it probably failed because he never maintained the anode. He wants

my opinion, on ss versus lined, because I have more knowledge about

water treatment in general and his water quality specifically. I

recently had his well water tested before and after his water

conditioner (softener). I wanted to find out if the system was doing its

job and if it was properly sized for his home and his water quality,

before I considered what type of hot water storage I would advise he

choose. Both plumbers gave us similar options of going with a storage

tank or an indirect and options for stainless or lined with anode(s).

The water tests showed 7 gpg hardness a pH of 6.7 and 16.5 mg/L of

chloride before and after the .75 cubic foot (24,000 grain) conditioner.

This proved my theory that the 16 year old conditioner was not doing

its job. After analyzing their water consumption and usage patterns,

checking the performance of the well and pressure tank, measuring the

static pressure and gpm flow at the tank and various fixtures throughout

the home we concluded that a new water softening system would be the