Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

carrier oil furnaces

Options
Paul_69
Paul_69 Member Posts: 251
has anybody run into the residential carrier oil furnaces with beckett burners with the round cleanout ports and no combustion box? i forgot model number but i cant seem to get a good flame and smoky and sooty i tried different nozzles. i have run into many with same situation. i am a tech, the chamber area seems to me to be too big and runs like crap.i have seen ones with riello and not have bad combustion.i dont like these furnace for other reasons also but this situation i cant put my hands on why.

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,505
    Options
    check for 2 things...

First of all, I have a few, and yup you're right.  I guess without the model number we don't know the best nozzle/air band/shutter settings to start with.

1. Check for air infiltrations.  Especially at the burner flange/gasket, and the transformer gasket.

2. Cracked heat exchanger.  Seen it on the back or the top.  On one, looking down the tube, thru the end cone.  Was blowing the fire back when the blower came on.

So I would pull the burner, check the chamber, replace with new gasket.  Find the model number, and compare with oem spec book, to return to starting nozzle/settings.  Do a heat exchanger test for cracks.  Make sure the pump is at the right pressure, make sure the draft is adjusted right, double check your z dimension,  and go from there.  I know, shouldnt have to be that tough.

What were your combustion numbers (or the best you could come up with)?

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• Paul_69
    Options
    combustion