Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

air for combustion

Options
Paul_69
Paul_69 Member Posts: 251
how can you tell if a boiler room or basement has eneough combustion air when doing routine check ups and service calls. alot of jobs i notice rooms getting enclosed after inspection.even if there is no apparent problems i would like to be able to cya and not be liuable if a problem arises after i have been there. i am a tech.

Comments

• icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Options
    Air for Combustion:

I haven't found a positive way to do that other than knowing that from my Massachusetts Continuing Education for my licenses, there is almost never enough to meet code. So, from there, assume that there isn't enough and go from there.

I have found that if the appliance is in a closet with no ventilation, I can put my Fyrite Insight into the exhaust with the door open, and check the CO while running with the door open. If I close the door and the CO goes up, it needs more make-up air. My EUI CO71 remembers the highest number so if I leave that in a room with the door closed for a while, and I get a reading, I know that there is an issue.

You touch it, you may own it.
  • Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,621
    edited February 2012
    Options
    Air for Combustion