Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam vents missing

Options
Hi all, long time Lurker, first time poster.

First, just thought I should mention that I own and have read lost art, pocket full of steam problems, and we got steam heat several times. I have only worked on a few of them and am a total newbie to steam, so be gentle...

I was looking at a two pipe system today, and noticed that the last guy that was there had the pressure set to 6 and diff to 2. It is a three story 53 unit apartment building with 4"( I think) mains. I set it to . 5 and 1. Not sure if that is right, but this guy also removed the main vents on the return. He didnt plug it, he just left it open. So i am not to sure. Don't trust his judgement.

My question is, what will happen with no vent, just a hole? I mean, that is a big vent right?

This system has a feed pump with a tank.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,313
    Options
    Say what?

If you are fortunate.  And if all the traps are working.  And if the vents (or where the vents used to be!) are on the dry returns, not the mains.

You can, in principle, get away with just an open hole.  In theory.  And I might add, sort of in practice -- a surprising number of vapour systems, particularly, simply had an open pipe which went into the chimney (these often had a large radiator, called a condensor, on that line, though, as well).

Murphy, however, is alive and well and fiddles with steam systems when one isn't looking.

However.  If a trap fails open (which does happen) that open hole is going to be hit with steam, unless the radiator with the bad trap is happens to be big enough and the inlet valve is set so that it will condense all the steam that gets to it -- which is unlikely.