Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gas Wall Hung Boilers

Greg Maxwell
Greg Maxwell Member Posts: 212
I need some input. I have 27 years experience in the Htg - AC supply side of our industry. This latest fad of wall hung boilers is giving me fits. Most of the jobs we are seeing are retro-fit, removal of an oil boiler and replacing with a wall hung "mod-con" type. 2-3 zone baseboard jobs. 180 degree supply temps. I have a real problem convincing contractors that they need thermal storage on these systems so the boilers can run long enough to condense. On these small heat exchangers, the boiler doesnt run long enough without it to get to steady state efficiency. It just keeps banging off limit.

There are jobs out there that are being figured by us properly, using radiant systems, so we have reset capabilities, but on some new systems, the guys want cheap & fast, so its 2-3 zone baseboard jobs, no extra baseboard to allow for lower water temps, and no buffer tanks.

Comments

• Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,612
    First question I have would

be concerning a heat loss and measurement of lineal feet of emitter. Most old system were over sized and in some cases over radiated. That if so could allow for lower operating temperatures along with outdoor reset.

See Brookhaven national Lab, Dr. Thomas Butcher paper on the subject at:

www.bnl.gov/isd/documents/28709.pdf
  • CMadatMe
    CMadatMe Member Posts: 3,086
    edited July 2011
    Haven't Run Into