Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

primary-secondary tee alignment

designerHP
designerHP Member Posts: 1
In a primary-secondary piping arrangement, how much pressure drop do you add if the outlet of the tees are not in the same plane. An example would be a horizontal main with one closely spaced tee facing down and the next facing to the side.

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    I am not a professional and do not really know, but I can guess.

The whole object of closely spaced Ts is to have minimum (near-zero) pressure drop between the Ts irrespective of the flow rate through them. In the usual case, the stems of the Ts point down. and the tops are horizontal. In my system, with the size circulator I have and the pipe sizes I have, these Ts should be about 5 inches apart, and they are.

Now if I put one in  in any other orientation, it would be sort-of like if I had a 90 degree elbow in there, only worse. If I do that, it is like adding that elbow. How much will that effect things? My piping there is 1.25 inch diameter. According to a table I have, the drop is equivalent ot 5.5 feet of copper tubing. So  there would be about 12x the resistance there should be. Basically, they would not longer be considered "closely spaced."
  • Gordan
    Gordan Member Posts: 891
    If I'm reading this correctly...

Then the main/shared segment between the tees is straight, but the branch outlets of the tees face different ways. So, the pressure drop between the tees should not be affected.
  • Paul Rohrs_14
    Paul Rohrs_14 Member Posts: 80
    Closely Spaced Tee's