Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Rheem Furnace problem

MacPHJr
MacPHJr Member Posts: 66
I am troubling shooting a problem with with a Rheem M# RGDA-100-GR, about 20 years old. I cant find a tech support number for Rheem heating and cooling products so I wanted to run it past the Wall.

There is a manual reset bi metal switch that keeps tripping. It trips at 210*f. The limit setting is 200*f.

The unit is natural gas with 2 motorized damper zones. I checked airflow and filter. The supply air temp is 175*f with 75*f return air. Seems extremely hot to me but I have no experience with these furnaces.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Slimpickins
    Slimpickins Member Posts: 339
    something is wrong

First, did you check the manifold gas pressure? Also 75 degree's as a return temp sounds way too high, typically return air is 3 to 5 degrees cooler that the set temp in the house. No matter how you look at it the 100 degree temp rise is out of the ball park. On the furnace along with model, serial number, and more fun facts it should say what they want the desired temp rise to be, usually in the range of 40 - 75.

Does it have AC? If so, the coil maybe is clogged. Maybe the dampers aren't fully opening. Check the registers and make sure they're all open. Maybe they put a couch against the return air grilles. Be a detective! If you call support, they're gonna wanna know your manifold gas pressure and static pressure, be prepared.
  • MacPHJr
    More Info

Didnt check gas pressure. Checked AC coil, pretty clean considering its a 20 year old unit. There are two units in the house, same model, both have same temp rise, but other unit doesnt have manual reset switch.

Stack temp is around 424*f. Seemed pretty high to me.