Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Changed to digital Thermostats, now not working

Options
I am a heating / plumber repair man.

I changed 2  mercury stats to 2  digital stats.  Client return call one month later to say  pilot was out on  natural gas Cast iron boiler, Burnham 204 nc....  I relit pilot. The two digital stats did not open each of their  zone valves for radiant loops.  But the other zone valve having a old mercury stat opened the n/c zone valve for the upstair fan coil garage unit heater, which turned on the only one pump in the whole system, then the burner came on.  I removed the digital stat , and jumpered   the two wires  ( both  wires have  power ) for the stat and the zone valve opened, and then turned  on  boiler pump ( the only pump in system) . I reinstalled  old mercury stat, works  fine.

I used The WR 1E78 -144 non  progamable stat , single stage, a ok for changing out  mercury stats. followed instructions in package:  (clipped cut  jumper  w905 wire for hot water heating. ) , set stat switch for gas.

( Is this system considered multistage systems ? as this stat states in chart that it do not do multistage systems. ( Does  Multistage means two or more boilers ? )

I tried a non progarmable stat  ( HW pro 1000 th111od1000 ) also certified to replace mercury stats , still the same result, only opens zone valve for one cycle, just like the other  WR stat. and after that the call for heat / turn up the stat 4* , several times trying , still it did not open the zone valve. All wire connections on stat : R = black wire, W = white wire. All Batteries were checked and  good 1.5 v.

On  HW stat  set settings to hot water heating as instructions.