Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

pex

drhvac
drhvac Member Posts: 190
Hi,

How critical is sizing pex piping? I have never used it before, and I notice the fittings and the piping itself are alot smaller than copper fittings. I have a buddy who is doing his own baseboard in his own house. I've done the heat load for him, and sized all the baseboard for him, and he is installing alot of it himself. When i went to check up on how he is doing, i find that he used 3/4 in pex on just about everything, including these small brass 90's that have a very small inside diameter. I know he was talking about using the pex, but i told him to sweat a piece of copper with a 90 to get into the basement, then just use the pex to connect to the next baseboard. But like I said he has the small brass 90's on every turn, and I am concerned about noise and flow. When I told him about this, he called a plumber friend of his, and the plumber told him he has never had a problem with the pex, and he uses 1/2" pex. Will this be an issue? I mainly work with duct work, and when sizing that, bigger is better with least amount of resistance. I would think the same be true for piping, and that is what i have read.

Thank you in advance

Comments

• meplumber
    meplumber Member Posts: 678
    Most of the PEX manu's have charts.

The sizing is very similar to copper.  The instance you describe should be fine.  3/4 PEX can carry a substantial amount of BTU's with a 20 deg. delta T.

I would have to see a drawing or more info on the layout to be sure, but I have run 5/8" pex between the baseboards for zones of less than 50' of BB with no trouble at all.
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,366
    edited November 2010
    Pex Sizing