Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hot water system, rhythmically banging radiators -- Aka, my tenants want to kill me

Hello everybody. I'm having a very frustrating issue with a hot water boiler heating system in a 4 story apartment building. Forgive me, I know some about the system but I am not an expert and do not know all of the proper terminology, but I'll do my best. The setup:

I don't know the specs of the boiler itself. It works great, though. The system has a single Wilo Stratos circulator pump, newly installed. The building is four stories. Building was built in the 1940s, radiators are largely originals. Each radiator has a Danfoss flow control valve.

I have exactly three radiators that are causing frequent, fairly loud repetitive banging noises. It's a constant knocking noise, sometimes more of a honking, in a perfect rhythm. Sometimes it's your standard 4/4 beat, and other times it goes all funky and does an interesting syncopated triplet rhythm or so. The noise can, without fail, be stopped by tweaking that Danfoss valve up or down, even just a little bit. Doesn't matter which way. Interestingly, it will also stop if the knob head of the valve is pressed in toward the actual valve assembly. It will resume upon release, though, and you can even vary the rhythm or tone by applying different pressures. The thing is, after anywhere from 20 minutes to 10 hours later, usually in the 30-90 minute range, it'll start right back up, even at the new valve position. Repeat. This wakes up the tenants living in the apartment the radiator is located in, or, even worse, if they're not home, it'll continue non-stop for hours and irritate half the building.