Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Sizing Secondary Pump for Replacement Boiler

Mpls_Matt
Mpls_Matt Member Posts: 2
All,

Obviously I am an amateur for asking such a basic question, but I could really use some help with this.

I've basically settled on the Triangle Tube Prestige Solo 110 to replace my very outdated cast iron boiler.  The current system is a single series with cast iron radiators and a Bell & Gosset 3 piece Series HV circulator.  The PS110 comes with a Grundfos UPS 15-58F-FC primary pump.  How do I size the secondary pump to run the secondary circuit to the cast iron radiators?  I have no idea what the system pressure or flow rate of the current system is.

A second question is how do I size the expansion tank if I don't know what the system volume is?

If this helps, the house is roughly 1600 square ft.

thanks for any help,

Matt

Comments

• Pump Sizing

You don't need a secondary pump if you only have one zone since the large flow will safely pull all the heat out of the boiler's heat exchanger.  Use the Grundfos pump; remove the B & G.

What is the size of your supply and return pipes on the boiler?  If not larger than 1", use a size 30 expansion tank which is one up from the smallest size, size 15.
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
  • Mpls_Matt
    Mpls_Matt Member Posts: 2
    Pipe sizes

Alan,