Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

UK Giannoni Heat Exchanger Review

SpeyFitter
SpeyFitter Member Posts: 422
<a href="http://www.gas-news.co.uk/archive/storage/pre-10/2007/comment/1006.htm">http://www.gas-news.co.uk/archive/storage/pre-10/2007/comment/1006.htm</a>

Interesting, Nonetheless...
Class 'A' Gas Fitter - Certified Hydronic Systems Designer - Journeyman Plumber

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    I am not a professional, but found this fascinating.

I was amazed by the complexity of the design of that heat exchanger. I am not qualified to say if it is good or bad, either in terms of heating efficiency, cost to manufacture, or life-time to be expected from such a thing.

While I do not wish to take sides in a fight about whose heat exchanger is best, or to re-open the aluminum vs. stainless debate, this review of the Giannoni heat exchanger certainly permits a comparison of two different ways of making heat exchangers. If you look at this (older design) Weil-Mclain Ultra-2 advertising brochure, page 5,

http://www.weil-mclain.com/en/multimedia-library/pdf/weil-mclain-pdf/products/discontinued/discontinued-boilers/ultra-series-boiler/ultratechlit.pdf