Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Problem with Mercury Switch/Pressuretrol.. HELP!

Options
First an admission. I'm far from an expert... just a property manager with a problem. In one of the buildings I manage, the steam boiler has the typical set up of a Pressuretrol (with a mercury) switch, a grey box that says "Cut in" and a high pressure emergency pressuretrol.

The problem I'm having is that if I set the mercury switch to cut out at under 5 lbs, the mercury tube doesn't come back far enough after the boiler turns off to allow the system to come back on again. That is, the mercury switch stays in the "left-side down" position instead of flopping back to the "right-side down".

The system works fine on just 2 lbs of pressure, so having it stay on until it makes 5 lbs is just a waste of fuel. After all, once the pipe gets to 200 degrees or so, it's not going to get much hotter.

I know I'm overlooking something, but I can't figure out how to solve this. BTW, the Pressuretrols are not quite level so at first I though that might have something to do with it, but it seems to me that leveling it perfectly will make it even harder for the mercury switch to flop back over (as it's tilted a bit toward the right looking at it face on.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,283
    Options
    A Pressuretrol