Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

main vent location

Options
STEAM DOCTOR
STEAM DOCTOR Member Posts: 1,967
thanks for the great site. i have posted here a few times and the advice was very helpful. I'm a plumber with almost no heating experience. i read through we got steam heat and lost art. these books are a gold mine. my question for today is about locating the main vents. i read in lost art about the importance of elevating the main vent to prevent water hammer damage. many of the main vents that i have seen are not on the main itself but rather on the top of the vertical leg of the dry return. do these vents need to be elevated as well? my intuition is that they do not need to be elevated. the reason is that since the main almost always turns 90 degrees before leading to the dry return therefore  it is not likely that there will be a blast of steam hitting the top of the dry return at high speed and therefore there is a very low risk of water hammer damage. please correct me if I'm wrong and thanks as usual for the great advice.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,280
    Options
    It's both

the blast of steam -- and the slug of errant condensate.  The location you describe is pretty safe, on the whole, but I'd still put in a short nipple if I had the overhead room.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • Antler

Here's an alternative that works very well and has the option of easily adding extra vents if you need them.  Position the "antler" so the condensate has to do a "U" turn to get to the vents. Note the union- using this allows you to make up the unit on a bench and saves trying to swing a wrench and banging your knuckles on the floor joists.

The drawing was done by Brad White.

- Rod