Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Proper way to bleed/flush a 2 zone split loop

nemerrill
nemerrill Member Posts: 3
edited October 11 in THE MAIN WALL

Hello all and thanks in advance for your help!

This is my first time working with balancing valves, backflow preventers, etc. Despite bleeding all the bleeders on the baseboards and the wall unit, the system had extensive gurgling all last winter. After drawing out the system I think I have the theory somewhat under control: close the ball valves (left of pumps in the drawing) on both zones, open the spigots (left of the ball valves) and let the water flow (while tapping baseboards) til the bubbles stop. Problem is that the pressure (15-25 psi) drops quickly and takes a long time to come back up. flipping the switch on the pressure regulator on the supply line does nothing. Could there be a holdup in the supply line? bad regulator? I have done this before on single loop systems and the regulator allowed for much greater flow when flushing.

Please note that there are several more parallel loops not included in the drawing.

Lots more questions for whoever wants to answer:

-valve on expansion tank was hissing. Should i replace valve core? reset the precharge pressure? This means i need to release all water pressure and pump with air to the 12 psi precharge as stated on the label?

-balancing valves show clear signs of serious corrosion and leaking (eg the tuna cans hanging to collect the drips, though i havent noticed any drips). sweat on new ones? Remove the cores and try to replace o-rings? let sleeping dogs lie til spring?

-some hack used 8' of red pex. i would need to cut open the wall to replace…how necessary?

-bleed the bleeders with the circulator pumps on or off?

THANKS AGAIN

Comments

• Big Ed_4
    Big Ed_4 Member Posts: 2,934
    edited October 11