Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Replacing a water heater connected to a boilers tankless coil

Options
JanS48
JanS48 Member Posts: 3

Greetings everyone - newbie here…

I have a rental property - 1000 sq ft 3 beds 1 bath, no dish washer with a washing machine. It has a 6 year old boiler with a tankless coil, the coil is feeding a 50 gal electric hot water heater that is failing. This installation was performed by a professional heating contractor.

Heating system is a single zone circulator feeding a one-pipe [black-iron] system connecting to 6 small tube cast iron radiators. Consumption wise the house is fairly economical to heat.

I'm a fairly good plumber although not up on all the latest 'tech' regarding boilers but I'm a quick study… and have a background in electronics.
My choices seem to be:
1) Bypass the electric hot water heater and run the house from the tankless coil - this is the least expensive.
2) Add an indirect water tank like an Amtrol (40 gal) or something similar. This brings up a few questions: I assume it will need it's own circulator even if connected to the boilers tankless coil - Is this even an acceptable installation method? Also I see references to 'cold start' can a tankless boiler's control be modified for that? The boiler installer told my wife that it was necessary to have the boiler maintain (which I think is a crock) - Is that something that is required by some manufactures?
3) Replace the electric hot water heater with a new one - this seems to me to be the most expensive option (for the renter).