Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Flame Rectification Help!

Options
Nhaggard07
Nhaggard07 Member Posts: 4
edited March 23 in Gas Heating
My first post here on Heating Help. I've read through a few of Dan's books and I'm thirsty for knowledge. I'm new to service and have one year in the industry. I have a furnace question that I hope is appropriate to post here on The Wall. 

I'm dealing with a system that has intermittent fault with flame sensor. Customer states every few months (since install 3 years ago!) furnace throws code and needs reset. The company who installed has replaced the board, the flame sensor, and the ground wire. Here's what I've documented so far- (system requires 3.7 ųa dc signal) I'm reading 1.5. Manufacturers literature states this reading is right at the threshold for a fault. This reading taken when unit running. My ac voltage to sensor is reading at 87v, manufactures requirement is between 90-110v. My gas pressure is at 3.55wc. 

Here's what I'm wondering- gas pressure is good, but is it possible under full load it's dropping at the furnace and causing my flame to be low, thus throwing code? But I'm not leaning this way since I'm only getting 1.5 DC when the gas pressure is correct.

What I'm leaning towards is that low ac voltage. It's only slightly below spec though. Is 3v below spec enough to drop my DC rectification that low? I don't know how to calculate that and verify. It's all I can come up with at the moment.

Any and all help appreciated! 

Nick

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,550
    Options
    Somehow you have to get the signal up. And some manufacturers when they tell you the minimum it really needs to be higher for reliable operation.