Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

HTP EFTC 140 Help

Options
apriestley
apriestley Member Posts: 2
edited February 20 in THE MAIN WALL
I am a homeowner having issues with our HTP wall-mounted combination unit. I'm not an expert so bear with me as I explain it as best I can. Unit was installed around 2010, we purchased the home in 2018. Two winters ago we had an issue where heat was not circulating through the baseboard radiators. We called the company that installed it and they replaced the three-way valve, solved our issue.

Similar issue happens this winter. Hot water works, thermostat will call for heat, boiler recognizes that its calling for heat, but will not circulate it into the radiators. No error codes. Called the same company once again, explained the issues and gave them the service records, they sent three guys out this time who diagnosed it as a bad control board and corroded terminal block and quote $ to fix it with $ being in parts alone with a two week lead time to get the parts. A little searching on my own and I found a control board on ebay far cheaper than the tech had quoted and ordered it myself. By the time it arrived, I had cleaned off some of the corrosion on the terminal block and the cold snap we were under had ended and everything started working again for a few weeks. I was going to replace the terminal block myself but, since it was working again, I held off.

Now temperatures are back in the 20s and we are having the same issue. I looked at it today and it seems a small leak has started at the connection between the internal pump and the three-way valve leading me to believe that this was probably another bad valve the whole time.