Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler cycle time with outdoor reset

lanem2494
lanem2494 Member Posts: 11
Hi all,

Happy New Year.

I have a three year old Viessmann Vitodens 100-W (model B1HA 125) boiler that I recently hooked up to an outdoor temperature sensor to enable the outdoor reset functionality of the system.
I have a 1,900 sq foot colonial with fin tube baseboard and two Nest thermostats (one on each floor). The house was built in 1985 and I would say it has above average insulation - all new replacement windows five years ago in addition to an attic with plenty of blown in cellulose.
I am located in MA northwest of Boston.

I'm still learning some of the ins and outs of outdoor reset, but from what I've read up on it seems like the lower supply temp and the longer cycle time I can get away with, while still having the house comfortable, the better. I currently have the set point on the boiler at 65 degrees F and the curve at 1.6, as well as each of the two thermostats set for 65 degrees F.

Since installing the outdoor sensor a few days ago, I'd say that each cycle time for each zone is lasting around 1 hour give or take before the inside thermostats are satisfied and the boiler cycles off. I haven't noticed much of an overshoot on either thermostat but the downstairs thermostat has occasionally hit 66 degrees F. It's probably around another hour before the thermostats call for heat again and the cycle restarts. The outdoor temps during this time have ranged from the mid 40s to the upper 20s.

I'm curious to know if there is a general or target amount of time that each boiler cycle should last given my situation, or if anyone in a similar situation can share their experience.