Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

CI Radiator retro

Options
warmAK
warmAK Member Posts: 6
Hi first time here.  I’m a mechanical contractor in Alaska and I have come across a project that I don’t do every day and wondering if some alternative experience can help me out here. 

We are remodeling a 9 unit 1940’s building in Fairbanks, down to studs, nothing is staying except all those old cast iron rads.  I have worked on plenty of systems with CI rads but never designed one.  

8 of 9 units are 500 sq ft with 2 rads per unit.  With all of our energy upgrades to the building (windows, insulation, vapor barrier) they are for sure oversized, but that doesn’t concern me as they will be quicker to satisfy and I will have a modulating outdoor reset setpoint. 

My question is…. Can I run the 2 rads in series with 1/2” pex?  I cannot seem to get any info on desired flow rates.  In my experience wether it be baseboard or slab heat 1/2-1 gpm will satisfy most properly piped terminal units or heat loops, I don’t think these would be any different.  That being said once it is roughed in and buried behind painted walls, it’s not a mistake you ever want to make.

the heat system- Is 2ea Lochinvar knight 199s 10ea pumped zones with grundfos upse pumps.  I have a dirt/mag spirotherm seperator and stainer to protect boilers from whatever crap these things send back. 

There is also a 2 bed unit 1200sq ft with 4 rads in it and a house loop for laundry and entryways.  Those will each be fed with a reverse return 3/4” loop with trv’s on each rad and may add a few buderus panels where we are short some old cast iron units.