Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Wiring Google Nest Power Connector to Multizone Heating

jrhgto
jrhgto Member Posts: 2
edited October 2023 in THE MAIN WALL
Hi,

I am a newbie in regard to wiring zone valves, and I currently have an older 2 wire forced hot water heating system using a Burnham boiler connected to 5 heating zones using Taco Valves. I have 2 wires going up to each thermostat and need a way to power my google next thermostat using the Google Nest power connector.

The Zone 2-5 taco valves are daisy chained (terminals 2 and 3) down from the Zone1 valve. Here is a diagram of the setup:

Since I have 2 transformers connected together, does that mean that I have power in both the Red and White wires coming from transformer #1? So the white thermostat wires will have power? (since they are pigtailed to the white transformer wire)

It appears that in my setup, the thermostats will take in power from the white wire and send it to the red wire (T1 on Taco) when it calls for heat? I thought it was supposed to be the other way around?

The Zone1 valve has 3 wires connected to T2 (Boiler white, Transformer Red, and daisy chain to Zone2)

So not sure what to do with all these wires when connecting to the google power connector.

Thanks!

Comments

• SteveSan
    SteveSan Member Posts: 243
    @jrhgto You can purchase a 5 zone Taco zone valve controller ZVC405-4. It will clean up the mechanical room ( wiring ) and also help troubleshoot with it's LED lights on the control. It lets you know which zones are calling and which zones that are not in use. It comes with two 40va transformers, so enough to handle the load from the five Nest t-stat.

The link below is to the IOM for the ZVC405-4.