Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Ready to ditch my heat pump split system in cold upstate NY

Options
josephny
josephny Member Posts: 270

I sure would appreciate some help solving a problem. I'm not a pro, and know very little compared with you all.

I have a small cottage in upstate NY (zone 4B) that I converted years ago from seasonal use to all-year use.

This involved spray foaming the underside of the roof, the walls and the underside of the floor (cottage is on raised piers).

But, prior to that (and prior to my current level of understanding) we added a room increasing the footprint by 50% that has cathedral ceilings with exposed rafters and no ceiling/roof insulation; it also has 3 exterior walls that are almost entirely glass (the underside of the floor in this section of the cottage has spray form just like the rest of the cottage). This addition is 24'x18'

Total cottage size now (with addition) is 24' x 42' (8' ceilings; 4 or 5 pitch roof).

About 6 years ago I had a heat pump split system (manufacturer: Pioneer) installed. The installer provided 2 outdoor condensers: 1 for the addition connected to a single wall mounted inside unit (36,000btu) ; the other (36,000BTU) for the original area of the cottage with a ceiling cassette unit in the kitchen and each of the 2 bedrooms.

The system has never worked well. The bottom 2' of the entire place is always cold, walking barefoot is completely unpleasant because of the cold, and from December through March it's almost impossible to keep the place at a comfortable temperature. And the electric bills are crazy high (and my rate is about $0.12/Kwh).

A couple of months ago (middle of the Winter) the outdoor unit serving the addition died (puffs of smoke).

I'm ready to ditch the entire system.