Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Geothermal Spa

I spent the last week in the California mountains consulting with the people in charge of operating and maintaining hot springs at a retreat. It's been there hundreds, maybe thousands of years before the native indians found it and white settlers moved in and supplies the facility with DHW, radiant floors and ceilings in the common areas, radiators in the guest rooms, spa pools, steam rooms and swimming pool heat.

Many of their distribution systems are old, out of date or need to be modernized and they are looking for recommendations. I have no experience with geothermal, but know a bit about moving water and distributing heat. So, rather than trying to reinvent the wheel, I'm asking here to try and find a person or publication that can steer me to a design that is already in use and that works.

There are two hot water springs, rich in minerals. One of the springs has two Grundfos 26-150 pumps in series supplying the room radiators, DHW for the kitchen, radiant floors and ceilings and heated water for the pool. The other spring fills a 1,200 gallon tank that supplies the steam rooms, spas, radiant floors in a couple of buildings and DHW for the showers and lavs. Various heat exchangers exist.

The Grundfos pumps are open to the weather and covered with plastic bags in the rainy season, some of the hot water is wasted back into the steam next to the hot springs, pipes are breaking, heat exchangers clogging up..........

8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
Mad Dog_2

Comments

• leonz
    leonz Member Posts: 1,096
    edited April 2023
    Hello Alan,