Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Good or bad idea or just a preference ? 90 degree expansion elbows on all loops

Options
cloudd
cloudd Member Posts: 48
edited April 2023 in Radiant Heating
I am tight for space on my manifold wall. This is my first time running radiant pex. I have my 10 zones/loops pulled to where my manifold will be. I will install the 12 loop manifold (2x spare expansion loops) on this wall and connect my 10 loops to it.

Is it a good/bad idea or just preference to use 90 degree pex-a expansion elbows on every loops supply/return where all the pipes will come down from the ceiling? 

I want to keep the pex pipes tight to the wall and organize them coming into the manifold. I really don’t have enough room above to get the pipes bent in 90 degree supports and allow go expansion do I?  There will be a drop ceiling install in this area and I plan to build a cupboard with a door around the manifold to hide it.

see picture

Comments

• dko
    dko Member Posts: 603
    edited April 2023
    Options
    An elbow in each run/return is not a huge deal in terms of functionality. But it's adding, in total, 40 potential points of failure in your case- regardless of how reliable it is.

If you had no choice, sure no biggie go for it! But seeing that you are going to be putting a drop ceiling.. that means you'll have enough space for the pex to come straight down the drop ceiling instead of at an angle. Given you had another support for the pex coming behind the wall, you can just use talons to create your elbow instead using pex supports. Can also just add the pex 90 supports for more rigidness.

If you are going to be making a cupboard, could you just not extend that to the ceiling as well? I'm assuming you are going to be covering up the pex coming down the wall anyway.