Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Should radiant heating boiler consume water?

alex2022
alex2022 Member Posts: 3

I am a complete newbie in radiant heating, so sorry for a stupid question.

I live in an Eichler home with functioning radiant heating (60yo pipes in concrete foundation, relatively new Prestige Solo boiler)

I noticed that every time the heating is on, boiler pulls water from the line (can hear and see it on the gauge). Does it mix water in the heating pipes with fresh water or always circulates fresh water? Shouldn't it always re-circulate existing water so it's easier to heat it up and avoid extra water consumption?

Thank you.

Comments

• GGross
    GGross Member Posts: 1,022

No, a properly functioning radiant heating system will be a closed loop that circulates the same heating fluid. there are sometimes filling units attached to the system, so that in the case of a leak you may fill the system back to the correct pressure, I like to leave those closed off so that everyone knows if there is a leak as it needs to be fixed. Can you post some pictures of your setup, and perhaps show us where the connection to fresh water is made with your system?

alex2022
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018

the system should hold pressure, always. A 60 year old steel or copper tube system could be on borrowed time 🧐

Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,713