Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help understanding SlantFin boiler schematics to diagnose a few things

enviousjl
enviousjl Member Posts: 10
Howdy. I am not a professional by any means, but simply a DIYer with a basic understanding of how things work.

I have this SlantFin boiler in a house I just bought and I'll start by saying that it seems to be working fine in the sense that the house is heating and the boiler appears to be operating normally at face value. However, there are some things I'd like to work out, and to do that, I need some help to better understand why things are set up the way they are here.

Things that I would like to address:
- Water hammer occurs when both valves are open, and then one closes
- I believe there may be some air in the system, as I can hear "rushing water" noises in certain areas of the house
- The pressure gauge always reads 0psi

In the image below with my markup, I am having a hard time understanding why there are drain valves (yellow) upstream of the zone valves, with another main valve (green) upstream of them. It was my understanding that to bleed the system, I would need to shut off flow to the boiler on the return side and bleed upstream from that, but there are no drain valves on the return side. There is a shut off valve upstream from the recirculator pump.

So I guess the main questions are:
1. How the heck do I bleed this thing? There are no valves on the radiators anywhere.
2. The water hammer - am I SOL with the way this is configured? Do I try the spring removal hack at the zone valves? I know the top one is a Honeywell, as I just replaced the head (the motor died).
3. Is 0psi at the boiler normal? Could the pressure gauge simply be toast?