Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Review my Combi-Boiler design for my 1923 house?

squatch
squatch Member Posts: 5
Hi all,

I'm planning on renovating the unfinished basement of our 1923-era Minneapolis home this summer (~2000 sf if the finished basement is included). The house is currently heated by cast-iron radiators fed by a ~20-year-old Slant/Fin boiler. We've been in the house about 3 years and haven't had any issues with it.

As part of the basement renovation, I'll have to relocate the boiler and WH, and will also
have to move all the boiler piping as it hangs down too far from the ceiling. I figure as longs as I'm doing that, I might as well replace the system with a Combi-Boiler to save a bunch of space.

I'm a structural engineer by practice with zero experience in the hydronics world. But I'm a fast learner once I sink my teeth into something. I've been devouring everything I can read/watch/listen to over the past couple weeks --- I find the Coffee with Calieffi webinars to be supurb.

So I set about designing the new system for a Combi-Boiler, did the whole Manual J calculation and the whole nine yards. I think I'm settling in on a Navien NCB-240/110H (AHRI 89 kBtu/hr).

I put together the attached hydronics system layout over the past week and am humbly requesting some feedback on my design. I'm smart enough to know that it's probably pretty good, but I'm humble enough to know that this is not my area of expertise, and that there are certain to be some things that I've overlooked.

Questions
  1. Overall thoughts // comments // questions // concerns // suggestions?
  2. I've set it up as a true primary/secondary layout, with one secondary circuit for the hot radiators and another secondary circuit for the cooler under-floor radiant heating. Is this overkill?