Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Slant/Fin VSL-160C boiler - need replacing or not?

So, here’s some info on the boiler I have. I'm a civilian - no HVAC experience, but I've got an inquisitive mind and I'm a software engineer in my day job. A gas company tech who saw my boiler and a service manager who didn't and doesn't know anything about it recommended I replace my boiler soon because I won't be able to get parts for it. I'm trying to figure out if they're being hasty or not. Mechanically, the boiler is working fine - I'll have an inspection and service soon for the first time since I bought this house and inherited the boiler.

My boiler is a Slant Fin VSL-160C: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Slant-Fin-VSL-Modulating-Condensing-Gas-Stainless-Steel-Boiler-with-Domestic-Hot-Water-30-000-to-160-000-BTU-Input-VSL-160C/204856987 Slant Fin points you to these retailers for parts since they went belly up:
https://www.parts4heating.com/ near Boston (I live in VT)
https://neuco.com

I’ve found parts on other sites too, including https://www.suppliesdepot.com/ which is based in NJ, and others just by googling part #s.

This boiler was made by Cosmogas in Italy originally as the CSG 160, and was rebadged by Slant Fin VSL-160, Peerless, Smith, and Embassy Onex OX-160 for sale in the US. But they’re all just CSG-160s with a badge on it, they were never actually made by any of these American companies, as far as I can tell.