Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

System has both types of expansion tanks?

TR1JR2
TR1JR2 Member Posts: 14
Newbie here, My residential boiler has an old overhead expansion tank an airtrol tank at the bottom of the circulator pump. Why?
I have to replace the pump so the question do I need both? And any advice on draining and refilling with 2 tanks?

Comments

• neilc
    neilc Member Posts: 2,727
    can you post pictures of how each is piped to the rest of your system ?
    and are there any auto air vents there anywhere,
    it is unusual, and likely unnecessary to have both,
    let's get a look at what someone else thought was needed
    known to beat dead horses
    EdTheHeaterMan
  • leonz
    leonz Member Posts: 1,237
    edited January 2023
    UGH, the steel compression tank is now flooded,
    and you have no point of pressure change and
    if you have a TACO circulator all you may need
    is a pump cartridge.

A picture will help and plumbing surgery is needed to
    get rid of that bladder tank and the automatic air vents.
  • TR1JR2
    Ok standby for pics btw this system has operated fine for the last 20+ years.
  • TR1JR2

• TR1JR2
    Note that the airtrol tank is not connected to the water line, it’s below the pump
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,702
    Your system has a Spirovent air purger and a diaphragm expansion tank. No need or place for the compression tank. If it is waterlogged it is basically a storage tank for boiler water? I would move the new diaphragm tank upstream of the new circ that you install

I would also connect the fill valve at the expansion tank connection..

When the system is drained split open the spiro, inspect and clean out.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • TR1JR2