Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Typical steam pressure at the convector for a University dorm

spaz
spaz Member Posts: 3
edited November 2022 in Strictly Steam
Morning folks. New here.

I have a 17 years of experience with residential HVAC and then 20 years experience at a commercial chiller plant for the U Of I.  But the university auctioned my job away and now I’m a maintenance man at one of their student dorms with about 100 residents. The original building was built in 1912 and then added four additions throughout the years. We are supplying 15 pounds of steam pressure to our convectors and I have been told that’s excessive. Is this true?  

Comments

• EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,713
    edited November 2022
    YES

You need to provide more information, can you access the boiler room?
    The Empire State Building is feeding steam from the basement to the top with about 2 PSI steam pressure
    (Why do you ask Two Dogs?)
    Are you experiencing any problems with not enough heat in some areas and too much heat in others?
    Edward F Young. Retired HVAC ContractorSpecialized in Residential Oil Burner and Hydronics
  • spaz
    We get steam from the boiler plant and it’s actually more like 12 pounds.  We also have different processes in the building such as flow rite water heaters and heating coils in the air handlers all using the same steam pressure.   What we’re experiencing is the tenants use the convector steam valves as on off switches. When they get cold they crack it, when they’re warm, they close it.  My opinion the valve should never need to be shut and you should be able to adjust how much heat is in the room with how far the convector valve is open.    
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,452
    @spaz