Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Buderus GB142 Heat Exchanger Replacement Question

Options
GB142
GB142 Member Posts: 33
edited October 2022 in THE MAIN WALL
I have been operating my GB142 since 2006. I have done most if not all the maintenance myself, albeit, in the beginning, years not quite as vigilant as I am today.

I have an appliance maintenance plan, so whenever I was in need of anything to be replaced, I called and a new part was ordered. Last year I had a small condensation leak and thought my HX was going to be done, but after having done some reading I purchased high temp silicone and used it to seal the left side where the block meats the tubing. So far so good.

Today, since it's that time of year and winter is around the corner, I decided to clean the HX. I had not done so since last year. At first, it seemed pretty crusty, but it in fact was mostly all ash not mineral crust like years past. No doubt it was due to the heavy concentration of mineral oil I used to clean it last year.

I also noticed my lower pan drain pan whole was nearly plugged shut. Wondering if that may have caused more backup.

Also, please look at the one photo of my fins around the lower left side where the gases escape. The fins are more corroded with some actually missing. Is this normal given it's age? Or, normal given its location being right above the condensation fluid as it exits?

QUESTION:
My GB142 is likely near the end of its life. A new HX can be had for around $1000, but I was told that it would be very very difficult to install and should just go ahead and replace it when the HX fails.

Can someone shed light on just how hard it would be to install a new HX. All the tubing and everything is there versus having to replumb the whole thing if I go with a new unit.

Comments

• EdTheHeaterMan