Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Lochinvar Noble Combi Boiler Problem with SH heating air when thermostat calls for cooling

Hello all,

I just moved into a new house that has a Lochinvar Noble Combi Boiler with a geothermal heat pump AC system. From my understanding, the boiler is supposed to provide a backup heat source when the temp outside drops below a certain level and the geothermal heating can't heat as efficiently. I am just starting to learn about this type of system. Unfortunately the previous homeowner's husband was the one that installed the system and he passed away. She doesn't know how any of it works. It seems he did some strange things with the system; for example, there are two thermostats, one for cooling and one for heating. There are also two zones (upstairs and downstairs) so there are four thermostats in total. So I am not sure where the problem is. Everything was working fine but recently the AC system has started pushing warm air when the thermostat calls for cooling. The boiler is sending warm/hot water through the furnace. The DHW seems to be working fine. The DHW pre-heat option is enabled. It seems to me that there should be a diverter valve that blocks off the SH side of things when the thermostat is not calling for heat. I am not sure how the system is supposed to work but if that is the case then it seems that there is a problem with that valve or maybe a sensor that controls that valve.

So when the DHW is at idle temp (125F) the boiler is on standby. Then if you turn the thermostat on with a call to cool the inlet temp starts to drop (105F) and the burner ignites and the outlet temp starts to rise (135F). The AC system starts blowing warm air. If you turn the thermostat off again then the boiler goes back to standby.