Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Dead Men Tales: How Diaphragm Tanks Came To Be

HeatingHelp
HeatingHelp Administrator Posts: 635
edited May 2022 in THE MAIN WALL

How Diaphragm Tanks Came To Be

In this episode, Dan Holohan shares some little-known stories about how diaphragm tanks were invented, as well as advice that will come in handy on the job.

Listen and subscribe here.

Thank you to our sponsor SupplyHouse.com.
Dave CarpentierIn_New_England

Comments

• BradHotNCold
    BradHotNCold Member Posts: 70
    Homeowner here with a pressure gauge to check the pressure. But how do I "isolate the tank from the system" before testing for pressure?
  • Kevin2020
    Kevin2020 Member Posts: 5
    Thanks for the story Dan. And for all your others. They always make me smile and laugh. I've been a service tech for 30+ years and have met and seen a lot of the people and things you have. Brings back many memories. I'm happy I can still learn things too. Never thought about the semi-permeable membrane in an Extrol tank. Might be the cause of a dripping relief valve in my building. I'm going to check it out. Thanks again and keep 'em coming!
    Kevin
  • MarkMurf
    MarkMurf Member Posts: 31
    Had an old timer service dude who used to put a plug in the bottom of the air scoop beneath the tee to the system prv. Then he would put a tee in system supply after the scoop and mount the extrol tank up side down securing it to the floor joists with straping ! I was 16-17. Asked my dad(top shelf tech) about it."Ahhh, everybodys got their own ideas son, it's o.k . Walter does nice work. It works." Ran into him at a memorial service for yet another old oil burner service icon who had recently passed ."Hell'o Mr. Lucey, how are