Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Boiler Leak

dss
dss Member Posts: 3
Hello,

I have been looking through some threads on here and I was hoping for some help. This is my first time posting and I am relatively new homeowner in NJ. I have a 16 year old crown steam boiler in my house (house built in 1902). About 3 weeks ago I noticed I had to start refilling almost every 24 hours. Boiler auto shutoff on me twice in consecutive days due to low water level. I hardly had to pay attention to the water level prior to this. I called in a local plumber who overfilled the boiler (no leaks anywhere else that I could tell before calling him). The boiler started leaking into the floor once overfilled. He said it indicated a hole/ leak above the water line and says I need a new boiler. I was then waiting on some quotes and figuring out a date for install so over the last 3 weeks I have been refilling daily just to make sure it says warm and to get us through the season. I have noticed some white smoke coming out of the chimney (last 2 days especially but it has been very very cold). I am committed to getting new boiler but want to make sure I am not doing any additional damage to the system. I know I am heating the neighborhood and wasting money on gas service because of the leak,  but want to make sure I am not doing any serious damage to the chimney liner. Was replaced 7 months ago. It was an expensive job and I want to make sure I am not being an idiot limping along for another week or so?

thanks!

Comments

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,722
    Your fine to limp along until the boiler gets replaced.